Coin of Your Live

IMG_6769

“Time is the coin of your life.  it is the only coin you have, and only you can determine how it will be spent”
–Carl Sandburg (1878-1967)  American poet, writer, editor, winner of 3 Pulitzer prizes

I know this has always been true.   And I’ve spent a good part of the coin of my life already.  But with this new wealth of time now one week into retirement, I’m thinking it all trough.  How best to spend these gloriously empty days and months and years I still have ahead?

So this first week I’ve been organizing, talking over meals with friends and left today on a road trip with the grand-girls to see aunts, uncles and cousins in San Francisco.  What a luxury to have the time!!  Hoping and praying to spend my coin well and I am thankful, truly thankful.

.

P.S. photo from beach walk in May.

11 thoughts on “Coin of Your Live

  1. When my parents came into retirement, they tought the same. Now, they are very busy. They love it. They go on long walks, bike rides, little & longer vacations, gardening, etc. My father does cycle racing a lot in 2 groups & my mother is in a book club & plays with cards with her female friends. xxx

    • You’re right Sophie– I’m already finding my days very full– today off for breakfast with friends and then shopping for fabric with my sister who is here for the summer from Kosovo! Hope you parents are doing well and you too!! hugs.

Leave a Reply

