Parmesan Chicken with Roasted Tomatoes

IMG_7942

Hello there– Well, my crop is in!  A friend at school gave be a mini cherry tomato plant and I slapped it in a big pot and set it outside the kitchen door where I would remember to water it every day.  And guess what!  It really took off!  Larry propped up it’s spreading branches and it’s loaded with these tiny cheery tomatoes, bright and sweet.

PARMESAN CHICKEN WITH ROASTED TOMATOES
2 cups cherry tomatoes
3 tablespoons olive oil
garlic salt & freshly ground pepper
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
3 tab. flour
3 tab. grated parmesan cheese
1 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp.freshly ground pepper
2 tab. olive oil
fresh basil (cut to shreds) or marjoram leaves for garnish*

Here’s my tomato crop–hardly a bountiful harvest, but I love picking those little things!!
IMG_7928

In a mixing bowl stir together the tomatoes and 3 tab. olive oil.  Liberally sprinkle it all with garlic salt and freshly ground pepper and spread the mixture onto a baking sheet– scrape all the extra olive oil out of the bowl to cover the tomatoes.

Put them in a 400 degree oven for 15 to 20 minutes (depending on the size of your tomatoes) until the skins burst and they are sweet and juicy.

While the tomatoes are roasting, slice the chicken breasts horizontally into 2 or 3 thin filets each.  In a shallow bowl mix the flour, parmesan, tsp. salt and 1/2 tsp. pepper.  Heat the 2 tab. olive oil in a skillet.  Dredge the chicken in the flour mixture and set it into the hot skillet.  Cook 3 or 4 minutes on each side until golden and cooked through.

Set the chicken on a platter and pour over the roasted tomatoes. Sprinkle on fresh basil or marjoram leaves to garnish.  Eat it hot with a crisp summer salad and a chunk of sturdy bread.  Quick and fresh for a summer’s supper.

*I used marjoram just because it grown like a weed in our side yard–basil would be great too!

P.S. the photos are just half a recipe– enough for my Larry and me.

IMG_7946

 

14 thoughts on “Parmesan Chicken with Roasted Tomatoes

  1. Yum!! Rhonda this looks delicious – and so easy. Funny, because I planted both a cherry tomato and a basil plant. I’m all set – just need chicken. (I think I’d do thighs b/c I like dark meat) Blessings to you Rhonda

  2. Dear Rhonda! I’ve been away and thought I would get some extra time to blog & keep up with my favorite blogs (like yours! 😊), only to find out the place we were at was having trouble with their wifi. I’ve been catching up this morning on all your posts. So happy that you’re enjoying all the days with lots of time for you to choose whatever you want to do. Enjoy, my friend! I’m sure your grand girls are thrilled with having more time with their grandma 😊 Btw, the tomatoes look beautiful and delicious! Gorgeous photos! Have a blessed week!! Xoxo

    • Thanks Daisy– so fun to hear from you!! Hope your get away was a relaxing wonderful time– vacation? visiting kids? Yep, enjoying those grand-girls and just that feeling of not been rushed all the time. Summer slow down– loving it. And we went shopping for baby quilt fabric– so I’m getting that cut out. Did you finish your two quilts?? I’ll let you know how this one goes… Hope all’s well with you. Welcome Home! hugs.

    • Nope. Real tomatoes are a sweet part of summer– our neighbor Bob is the Real Gardener– he brings us tomatoes from his yard. And we have 4 volunteer tomatoes coming up in the soil where Larry planted some star Jasmine along the fence and used compost from the garden. I’m hoping they come through! hahaha. Happy summer there Kat. hugs.

Leave a Reply

