Parmesan Pasta with Mushrooms & Spinach

IMG_8176

Hey there– We’ve been eating our share of salads and light summer suppers– but once in a while you get into a mood and only a plate of pasta will do.  This one is delectable– creamy and cheesy and garlicky– with all those mushrooms and spinach.  So satisfying.  ( I won’t admit that I had a little bowl for breakfast the next morning!).  I think you might really like it too– when that pasta craving hits.

PARMESAN PASTA WITH MUSHROOMS & SPINACH

8 oz. pasta*
3 to 4  tab. olive oil
8 oz. crimini mushrooms, cut in half
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. freshly ground pepper
4 cloves garlic
1 cup chicken stock
1/2 cup whole milk (or half & half)
1/3 cup parmesan cheese
1 tsp. cornstarch
3 cups spinach, cut in shreds

IMG_8169

Cook the pasta according to the directions on the box, using lightly salted water.

Heat the olive oil in a heavy skillet.  Drop in the cut mushrooms and cook, stirring a bit for 3 or 4 minutes until they are tender.  Salt & pepper them while they cook.  Add in the garlic and cook one 1 minute more.

Then pour in the chicken stock and milk.  Bring to a low simmer and cook 2 minutes.  Stir in the parmesan cheese.  Mix the cornstarch with 1/4 cup water in a container with a tight fitting lid and shake it up until the cornstarch is completely dissolved and stir it into the simmer sauce until it thickens.

Drop in the shreds of spinach and cook 1 minute more until it is wilted and tender.  Then drain the pasta and spread it onto a platter.  Top it with the mushroom-spinach sauce.  Serve it up hot, maybe with another sprinkle of parmesan on top!

*Used my very favorite angel hair pasta, pick your own fave.

IMG_8205

33 thoughts on “Parmesan Pasta with Mushrooms & Spinach

        • It’s been grand Lacey– lots of lunches with friends, reading and stitching on a quilt for our new baby grand-girl on the way! Next week our kids (3 & families) are meeting up at a lake house in Wisconsin– excited for that! Hope you’re staying cool and enjoying your dear family…

            • Hey Lacey– I’m like you were with your vacation this summer– so excited for time away with kids! I’ll for sure be loading up way too may pictures of hikes and canoe paddling! — and thanks– we are so thankful for the baby girl on the way– an enormous blessing for us. Happy summer days– (just came in from an early walk and I’m sweaty!! ugh). Hope all’s well. xo

  1. YUM! Rhonda, great recipe. I love cremini mushrooms and spinach together. One question: is there a thickener I can use instead of corn starch? I may have asked you this already (sorry, if so). Corn doesn’t agree well with me. Blessings my friend.

    • Hi Debbie– I’m sure an equal amount to flour would be fine– I’ve heard it’s really hot in NY right now How are you managing?? We’re drinking lots of iced tea here!! take care…

      • OMG it’s really hot. And I’m doing ok. I live in an old style NY apt, so it’s a walk up with no A/C built in. I have a good standing A/C for the bedroom and a BIG fan for the living room. It’s a good reminder to take things one step at a time right? So glad that you’re drinking iced tea, sounds very refreshing 🙂 Thank you Rhonda for asking. Blessings.

    • Hey there Suzanne! Thanks– encouraging to hear your like the photo– my vision seems worse and I think it’s time to get a check up and some new glasses!! hahaha. Yep, pasta with mushrooms is my kind of food too– so homey. take care friend. xo

      • Same here, Rhonda. My summer was great – visited some places with my family, reconnected with some cousins, catch up with friends, and I got to eat my favourite Filipino food. How about you? 😍

        • Lilly– just read through your posts on your trip to the Philippines!! How exciting and beautiful– looks like you had so much fun with your family there. –I’ve been working on projects at home, spending lots of time catching up with friends and stitching a quilt for our new baby grand-girl on the way. It’s been a lovely summer so far… (next week off to a week with the family– like you!). xox

  2. What a gorgeous dish! I wondered when I just saw the milk how it was so creamy and then spotted the cornstarch. Great idea! For your friend who can’t eat corn, a lot of people use arrow root. It’s getting easier to find, too. I can’t wait to try this recipe!

  3. Hi Rhonda,
    Oh this looks so tasty!! We’ve been of the road for what feels like an eternity and I’m craving a good home cooked meal like this. This pasta looks amazing! We love spinach, mushrooms and lots of garlic in our house.

    Oh and I love left over pasta for breakfast too!!

    Hope all is good and you are enjoying your summer!!

    • Welcome Home Melody!! Hope the PTA conference was productive1 I know what you mean– it’s fun to travel and eat out, things you might now fix at home. But it’s always good to get back to your own bed and your own kitchen in the end. Hope you get a chance to relax for a bit!… xox

Leave a Reply

