Crunchy Kale Salad with Tahini Dressing

 

IMG_8543

Hi all–  I like this bright friendly salad– All that sturdy kale, hearty farro and those crunchy almonds.  But the real star is the dressing!  So much flavor from the cilantro, tahini, cumin, garlic…

Actually I had the tahini in the fridge, because I got it for a humus recipe that was grand failure (lumpy, bumpy and bland).  Add that to the list of not so great cooking attempts that never made it to be blog posts!!   But happily, the tahini was just what I needed when I came across a version of this salad (thanks Pinterest!). I think you might like it as much as we did…

CRUNCHY KALE SALAD WITH TAHINI DRESSING

Dressing:
1/4 cup olive oil
2 tab. red wine vinegar
2 tab. cilantro, chopped fine
2 tab. tahini
1/2 tsp. cumin
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 tsp. salt
several grinds of freshly ground pepper

Salad:
1/2 cup farro, uncooked
5 cups, kale, chopped to bits
1 carrot, shredded to strips
5 radishes, sliced thin
1 avocado, cut to small pieces
1/4 cup toasted almonds

Whisk together the salad dressing ingredients until they are thoroughly blended, set aside.

Cook the farro according to the package directions– mine said boil with 1  1/2 cups slightly salted water for 10 minutes.  Drain in a sieve and rinse with cold water to be cool enough for the salad.

Then layer up the kale, farro, carrots, avocado, radishes and almonds.  Pour on the dressing when you are ready to serve it up.  Crunchy good!

IMG_8536

29 thoughts on “Crunchy Kale Salad with Tahini Dressing

    • Hey Lacey– yep, usually I’m in a hurry and just throw on oil, vinegar and a little salt & pepper. But this dressing really matched the hearty salad– next time I’ll make extra to save in the fridge! Always fun to hear from you–blessings.

        • Camping! I’m a little jealous Miriam– is it warm enough to camp in winter there??? We camped every summer growing up and I’m hoping to get those grand-girls up to Sequoia National Park to camp next summer! Hope you had the best time!! xo

          • Thanks Rhonda, we had a wonderful time. It was just hubby and I this weekend, the kids didn’t want to go and are old enough to stay home by themselves. Our camping these days is not particularly rough, we have a camper van with a lovely queen size bed and a heater inside! All with the sound of the waves crashing close by so it was heaven! 🙂 xo

  1. I really like kale salads a lot! I’ve been seeing a lot of recipes with farro in them and have been wanting to try it. Thank you for sharing, Rhonda! This looks delicious!

      • Oh that’s wonderful! What is your mom’s name? Love that.
        I went to the Rockettes today!!!! It was wonderful. I ended up doing a post inspired by it just a few minutes ago. Tomorrow, I’ll watch a ministers’ meeting online (I’m a minister in an alternative CA-based org) and possibly see some friends. What a blessed weekend huh? Take good care, and HAPPY BIRTHDAY to your mom. ❤ Blessings.

        • Hey Debbie– my mom is Lorraine, nice old fashioned name. Wow– seeing the Rockkettes! Sounds like a lot of fun. Hope your meeting is so worthwhile… I’m baking cakes right now for tomorrow– we ALL her friends to come by for Open House, so we could have a crowd! Have a blessed Sunday… hugs hugs.

  2. Yummy! We’ve been eating lots of salads lately because it’s just been HOT here in Texas and this look like one we would enjoy. MMM That dressing sounds divine too Rhonda 🙂 I love anything with cumin in it.
    Have a Happy Weekend!!

    • I’m with you Melody– cumin on a recipe list makes me want to give it a try! I’m sure it’s connected to our mutual love of Mexican food! Hope you have a delicious weekend, relaxing a bit back at home! xo

Leave a Reply

