Pork & Butternut Squash in Maple Glaze

 

IMG_0752

Hi all-  My sis Lulu and I were snooping around the mall and wandered into the William Sonoma store (one of our favorite window shopping stops).  The clerk there was giving out sample of stewed chicken and veggies cooked in their bottled maple bourbon sauce.  It was delish– and set me to thinking about dinner at home.

So I chunked up a pork loin and roasted squash to stir up in my own simple version of a maple glaze.  It turned out just fine– enjoyed it with my sister and her husband sitting at the table with us.  That makes every meal good!

PORK & BUTTERNUT SQUASH IN MAPLE GLAZE
1 1/2 pound (or a little more) pork loin
3 tab. olive oil
1 small butternut squash (1 1/2 to 2 pounds)
1/2 cup red or yellow bell pepper, chopped to small bits
1/4 cup sliced almonds
2 green onions, cut to bits-green part only

sauce:
3/4 cup water
3 tab. soy sauce
1/4 cup maple syrup
2 tab. cornstarch

Cut the butternut squash in two halves the long way, and scoop out the seeds the stringy part of the squash.  Put it cut side down on a baking sheet and cook at 400 degrees for 15 to 20 minutes, until the the squash is tender and slices easily with a paring knife. When it cools a bit, peel off the skin with a knife and cut it into small chunks.

To get the sauce ready, put the water, soy sauce, maple syrup and cornstarch in a container with a tight fitting lid.  Shake it heartily until it’s all well blended and set aside.

Cut the pork into smallish chunks.  Heat a large skillet with the 3 tab. of olive oil on medium high.  Drop in the pork and cook 8 to 10 minutes until the pork is browned and cooked through, but still tender. Remove the pork from the pan, but leave on the heat.

Put the butternut squash and bell pepper in the hot pan for two or three minutes to absorb the juices in the pan.  Add the pork back in.  Then give the sauce a few more shakes to make sure it’s all blended and then stir it in to the pan until the sauce thickens, 2 or 3 minutes.

When you’re ready to serve it up, stir the almonds into the pork mixture.  Serve it with rice or farro or noodles on a large platter and garnish the top with the green onions.  Rich and delicious!

IMG_0745

 

11 thoughts on “Pork & Butternut Squash in Maple Glaze

  1. YUM Rhonda! I love butternut squash (and farro too).
    You are such a creative cook with simple and fun recipes, which is good for me. 🙂
    I remember you mentioned I could use flour instead of corn starch as a thickener, is that right? If so, how much of a substitution? Thanks!!
    Hope your weekend is going magnificently. Blessings, Debbie

    • Hi Debbie– I would just use the same amount for flour– whisked in for no lumps! love butternut squash too– and it seems like it’s almost squash season with fall around the corner! xox

  2. I’ve always had a hard time with butternut squash. I try to eat a lot of different vegetables and so every now and then I’ll give it another go – this looks like a delish way to serve it!

    • OK Kat– I love nuts in any food–so that sounds like a brilliant idea! And I agree WS seems expensive– Some friends gave me a couple hundred dollars in gifts cards from there and I kept them for 2 years because I couldn’t bear to spend $49 for a bundt pan I wanted! But last Christmas they had gorgeous Hannukah dishes on sale 70% off– so I got a lovely set of blue and white dish, crazed and old fashioned. I’m just a hopeless cheapskate. Thanks for the peanut idea! take care… xo

Leave a Reply

