Fluffy Bran Pancakes

 

img_1412

Good morning– I would pretty much be happy to eat pancakes every morning of the week– instead of my routine yogurt or oatmeal.  And, happily, these little pancakes are pretty much guilt free (until I slather them with maple syrup!).  They’re tender and fluffy and I’d say a great way to start out the day…

FLUFFY BRAN PANCAKES
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
3/4 cup unbleached white flour
2/3 cup bran
1/4 cup sugar
1 tab. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 egg
1 1/2 cups buttermilk*
1/4 cup canola oil
toppings:  fruit, maple syrup, jam, honey, butter, powdered sugar, yogurt, granola… (take your pick!)

In a mixing bowl stir together the wheat flour, white flour, bran, sugar, baking powder and salt.  Mix in the egg, buttermilk and oil,  Cook the pancakes on a medium high grill, sprayed with cooking spray until they are perfectly browned on each side.

Serve with your favorite toppings.  Makes about 16 pancakes.

*If you don’t have buttermilk on hand (like I don’t)– pour a couple tablespoons of cider vinegar into your measuring up and fill up with milk to make 1 1/2 cups.

img_1406

14 thoughts on “Fluffy Bran Pancakes

  1. Yum, yum, yum!! Rhonda, these look delicious! 🙂 They almost have the look of sweet potato pancakes. I am a big pancake fan myself.
    I wonder if they would be good with coconut milk instead of buttermilk. Is that weird?
    Anyway, many blessings and have a wonderful weekend. Love, Debbie xo

    • OK Debbie–I don’t know if coconut milk would work the same– the cultures in buttermilk act with the baking powder from he pancakes to rise. But it could be just great!! And I’ve never heard of sweet potato pancakes –but they sound pretty perfect!! (I’m off to google sweet potato pancake recipes!!) Happy travels ahead! xox

  2. Rhonda, those pancakes look amazing, I am trying to figure out how to make pancakes without flour. I love pancakes these really are a very nice and healthful breakfast. I think I’ll add this to my air bnb menu. Thanks for a great recipe.

Leave a Reply

