Books for a Special Baby

51t6yg2l95l-_sy384_bo1204203200_    61osoynds4l-_sy389_bo1204203200_

61nsrigxktl-_sx410_bo1204203200_  513weowhe3l-_sx391_bo1204203200_  unknown-1

51hyxww8jdl-_sx450_bo1204203200_  51uc3k0hkml-_sx388_bo1204203200_  51xgrp4syzl-_sx408_bo1204203200_

“So please, oh please, we beg, we pray,
Go throw your TV set away,
And in its place you can install
A lovely bookshelf on the wall. 
— Roald Dahl (British novelist & children’s writer 1916-1990)

.

Hi all– In a couple weeks we’re heading up to San Francisco to a baby shower for our daughter Ani and her Brian.  I can’t wait!  And all the friends are bringing books to start that baby girl’s library.  I’m of a mind that a baby can’t have too many books!  So here’s my dilemma– which books should I wrap up for the newest grand-girl??  There are so many stories I look forward to reading to that little girl!  Here’s a few possibilities:

The Jolly Postman by Alan and Janet Ahlberg
A British postman delivers letters to storybook characters across the countryside– and the actual letters pull out from pockets on the pages to be read.  Charming.

Noah’s Ark by Peter Speier
Dutch artist. Peter Speier,  tells the story of Noah and his ark in the this detailed wordless book with plenty  of humor ad warmth. A Caldecott winner.

No Jumping on the Bed! by Tedd Arnold
Despite warnings about jumping on the bed, Walter jumps until he crashes down through several floors of his apartment building, taking the other occupants along with him.  Clever rhyme and illustration.

My Crayons Talk by G. Brian Karas
A lively lovely first book of colors– set the to a staccato rhythm that carries the story along.  “Talk talk, my crayons talk, Clickety Clackety Talk talk talk!”

Noisy Nora by Rosemary Wells
Naughty Nora just wants attention and she’ll do just about anything to get it– until she disappears!

I Ain’t Gonna Paint No More by Karen Beaumont
A toddler goes wild with his set of paints, starting with his body and ending up pretty much splashing paint in all directions– to the tune of “It Ain’t Going to Rain No More.”  Wacky rhyme and whimsical illustrations make this loads of fun!

The Lady with the Alligator Purse by Nadine Wescott
Sing along story of a baby who drinks the bath water and eats the soap and ends up with the arrival of the slightly crazy doctor and nurse.  But the hero of the story is the lady with the alligator purse– and her pizza!
Wacky fun.

Lunch by Denise Flemming
Colorfully crafted illustrations tell the story of a little mouse with a big appetite who eats his way through the kitchen.  Delightful.

There you have it.  So many fantastic books (and there are more!!)  We’ll be reading stories galore to our new little baby Heung in the year to come…

 

12 thoughts on “Books for a Special Baby

    • Hey Marcia– I thought of you when I wrote this post. These are old favorites– and I know you are up on all the newest best pictures books! I need to go back to your recent book post for some fresh ideas! And yep– she needs Good Night Moon and The Runaway Bunny!! Take care book-buddy. xox

  1. She’s going to be so loved, that sweet little girl! My husband and I just found out a few weeks ago that we are going to be an Aunt and Uncle for the first time! We have a nephew arriving in February and our hearts are so full. I will look into getting some of these books!

    • Congratulations Jasmine!! I know it’s so exciting!! You will have so much fun watching him grow– and getting to be the “fun aunt!” It’s a unique and sweet relationship. Will he be living close by? xox

      • Thank you, Rhonda!! I’m already dreaming about meeting him and all the things we’ll be able to show him. They live in Dallas, which is slightly less than 3 hours away. There’s a chance we may move there one day, but for now it’s close enough for a weekend or even a day trip!

        • Hi Jasmine– 3 hours is totally do-able! our grand girls are 2 1/2 hours north in Ojai and we trek up pretty often. I know you’ll have so much fun getting to know that little guy!! (and we lived in Dallas for 4 years when we were first married and Larry was in school– loved it. The people were so warm and friendly!). Hope you have a good weekend ahead Jasmine! xox

  2. Great list! I have saved the best loved books from when my kids were little, they are here in my office. I will NEVER get rid of them. I love anything by Jan Brett and my boys loved all those Richard Scarry books too. So much too look at with those. – Kat

    • Oh yes Kat– we have both those authors in the bookcase. I have most of our own kid’s books too– plus a few from the years I taught kindergarten. Love reading with kids!! Hope you’re having a restful Sunday there! (Larry is off to the dodger game with friends so I am lazing on the couch!) xox Kat!

    • Don’t you love beautiful kid’s books?? I read Brown Bear, Brown Bear to Lois today (she’s 9 days old)– just wanted her to hear the rhythm of the words… So excited to hear from you Daisy! xo

Leave a Reply

