Everyday Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cake

img_1791

Hello Fall Friends– I wish I could say it was nippy 65 degrees today– but walking this morning at 7:00 was a hot one!  And it’s predicted to be up around 100 degrees by this afternoon!  But what the heck, the calendar says it’s fall and I’m not waiting any longer for pumpkin desserts to set in.

I love this little everyday cake.  Not fancy.  You can put it together and into the oven in about 7 minutes!  It you really want to make it simple, just dust the top with powdered sugar when you’re ready to eat it and you’re done.  But I think cream cheese frosting makes it pretty irresistible.  I’ll try that next time…

EVERYDAY CHOCOLATE CHIP PUMPKIN CAKE

Cake:
3/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup canola oil
2 eggs
1 cup pumpkin puree
1 tsp. vanilla
1 cup flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice (or cinnamon)
3/4 cup mini chocolate chips*
garnish:  powdered sugar, whipped cream**

img_1781

In a mixing bowl, stir together the sugar, oil, eggs, pumpkin and vanilla.  Then mix in the flour, baking powder, salt and pumpkin pie spice.  Finally fold in the chocolate chips.

Scoop the batter into a 8″ or 9″ cake pan*** that has been sprayed with cooking spray.  Bake the cake at 350 degrees for 30 to 35 minutes until a small knife stuck in the cake comes out clean.

After the cake cools, dust it with powdered sugar through a sieve.  Just a friendly easy little cake to share with friends.

*Use mini chips instead of normal chocolate chips, so that they won’t sink to the bottom of the cake.
**Use 8 oz. whipping cream alone with 1 tsp. powdered sugar and 1 tsp. instant vanilla pudding mix (to stabilize the cream)– whipped together with and electric mixer.
*** I like to use a a springform pan so it’s easy to remove the cake to a plate for serving.img_1810

35 thoughts on “Everyday Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cake

    • Debbie–you’re back!!!! How was the time In Japan?? So worthwhile? Encouraging? I’m trying to imagine it. Are you posting again? I have to go check! And– I have big news. Our daughter had her baby 10 days early, so I drove 9 hours up to San Francisco yesterday to meet her on her first day in the big world! She’s so pink and cute! OK, hope you’re all settled in back home. So fun to see you back! Hugs!

      • Oh my gosh!!! This is wonderful, Rhonda. Congratulations 🙂 Many blessings to you, to your daughter and new granddaughter, and to your entire family.

        The trip was profound for me. I learned a lot about the blessings of each moment, speaking kind words and thankfulness, and the strength inside of me to love and be compassionate with myself and with the world around me – especially the people right in front of me! I did one post about this yesterday. 🙂

        Sending many blessings again to you and your family. Would love to see pictures when you get a chance.
        Loving and Hugs,
        Debbie

  1. Hi Rhonda, well, The test is over and it wasn’t nearly as bad as I feared. They did not make it go faster than I could tolerate and stopped it when I was merely breathing fast. Also from the original look at the test, there did not appear to be any clogged arteries. What a relief and blessing that was! Thank the whole group for praying! I still do not know what is causing the symptoms, though, and I do not know what other avenues to pursue. Guess just pray for wisdom/or that symptoms would go away. Hope you are having a great time w/ your family. Praying for safe arrival of that baby and wonderful memories being made.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Oh Mary, hoping and praying you find out what’s happening. — and thanks– the baby came early!! Right after our study, late Wednesday night!! So I spent the afternoon today holding her in the hospital. Love you friend, xox

Leave a Reply

