Yogurt Banana Muffins

img_3001

Good morning!  I’m still here in San Francisco with Baby Lois and her dear parents, Ani & Brian.  This morning I grabbed her early and she laid in her rocker in the kitchen and “helped” me make banana muffins for breakfast.  The sun was shining in the windows and she just squirmed and made her little “turkey sounds” while I mixed and stirred.  It was a fine time in the kitchen!

5175kwhmhl-_sy346_These muffins are from one of my very very favorite bloggers– Shannan Martin Writes.  She’s funny and fresh and has so much to say about family and faith and seeing the beautiful in every places.  She occasionally puts a recipe out there–  AND she recently published her first book– well worth reading, Falling Free, Rescued from the Life I’d Always Wanted .

The muffins (back to the real subject here) are tender and spongy and pretty on your plate–with a sweet crunchy coating on top.   A great start to your morning.

YOGURT BANANA MUFFINS
2 smashed bananas
2/3 cup sugar
1 cup unflavored yogurt
1 egg
1/4 cup canola oil
1 1/3 cup flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 cup walnuts or pecans (or a bit more if you love nuts like I do!)

topping:
1/4 cup sugar
1 tsp. cinnamon

Smash the banana with a fork in a large mixing bowl.  Stir in the sugar, yogurt, egg and oil.  Then mix in the flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and nuts just until it’s all blended.

Spoon the thick batter into a muffin tin lined with paper liners.  Makes 12 pretty muffins.  Mix together the 1/4 cup sugar and 1 tsp. cinnamon and then sprinkle it over the unbaked muffins.

Pop them into the oven and bake them at 350 degrees for 18 to 20 minutes, until they are nicely browned and springy to the touch.  Best warm with mugs of tea and sunshine coming in the windows!

And I just can’t resist putting up a photo of my baking buddy– Baby Lois!  (I’ll really try not to over do it on baby pictures!!)
img_3174
Here she is sleeping– it’s what she does best!

40 thoughts on “Yogurt Banana Muffins

    • Hi Suzanne– we’re a little ga ga here too. I’m staying here til Monday (2 1/2 weeks in all) and then heading home with Larry– I’ll really miss hanging out with this little pumpkin! Hope all your Halloween plans are falling into place!! We’re driving home on Monday and will arrive just in time for trick or treaters!! hugs friend!

  1. Oh Rhonda, she is precious! Love to baby Lois. 💜

    Thanks for this great recipe – looks delicious. I’d consider doing them with honey or coconut sugar, and maybe even some oat flour. What do you think?

    Blessings and love xo

  2. Pingback: Es’s Yogurt Banana Muffins | The Recipe Hunter

  3. Rhonda, just to let you know, I made these, and WOW WOW it’s super yummy….. I did make some minor tweaks to your original recipe. See the ping you received for my version. Thanks again for the sharing. ❤ ❤ ❤

    • Hi Sandy! Thanks. She’s a jewel (as you know from your own grand-mothering)– Saw you were in SF with friends! Would love to hear about your trip!! (I’m up here now for a couple weeks of helping with the new little Lois– loving it!) Talk to you soon! hugs!

  4. I was very interested in the muffins, the photo, and the recipe…UNTIL I saw the baby!! Oh, she is just the cutest! I don’t know how you were able to take your eyes off of her to bake the muffins. Don’t you just love being a grandmother?! 🙂

    • Yes I do! I’m doing laundry and cooking here with the kids- but mostly I sit on the couch with that little girl and just watch her squirm and make her funny faces. I’m entranced! I know this newborn age goes so so fast. Happy grad mothering there Daisy!! xox

  5. Oh, she’s so very precious, Rhonda! 🙂 And the muffins sound wonderful. Thinking back to my grandbabies and it seemed we hardly had time to catch a moment…I know we must have taken time to cook and eat, etc., but it all seems a blur of activity!

    • Thanks Mollie– I’m surprised– Thought you had younger kids at home, hot grand-kids!! It has been a lot of busy fun. My husband Larry got up here last night and we head home on Monday– I’m really going to miss snuggling that little girl!! Are you grand kids close by??

      • I bet you will! Hope it’s not too far for you. My grandbabies are in Georgia, My daughter’s children, four of them! They’re all so fun. The last two are twins. I last saw them in April. My son, until fairly recently, was at home (and then gone and then home and then gone…)and he’s a rather late bloomer but starting to find his way. 🙂 Say a prayer for him, if you would, please! 🙂

        • Hey Mollie– glad you got the trip to Georgia! 4 little kids! That’s awesome. We had 4 and lived in Spain for 12 years when they were small– and my parents came every year to see them. It was such a joy to have them there. I’ll bet your daughter feels the same. — and we have had a couple in and out kids, I think people that age now have a more complicated time landing in a vocation/marriage/home. It’s been interesting to watch. I’d love to pray for him–when I pray for my own kids. I know you never stop being a mom. Fun to hear a little about your family Mollie! take care… xo

    • Me too Marcia– my favorite pancakes have yogurt and banana– make them whenever the grand-girls show up. Thanks for appreciated another baby face– you’re so kind. I’ve taken a whole bunch of pictures of that little girl and we are leaving for home tomorrow (but Ani promised daily instagram pics!!) Hope you are well there friend. xox

Leave a Reply

