NY Times Buttermilk Pancakes

img_5230

Good morning!  We had a leftover partly used quart of buttermilk lurking in the back of the fridge when the family was in for Christmas.  Google brought up this recipe from the NY Times–and hooray– we used up that buttermilk!  And got a few stacks of really fluffy pancakes in the process. They were yummy- light and airy.  I think we’ll be seeing these pancakes around here a lot ahead…

NY TIMES BUTTERMILK PANCAKES
2 cups flour
2 tab. sugar
3 tsp. baking powder
1 1/4 tsp. salt
2  1/2 cups buttermilk
2 eggs
3 tab. melted butter (or canola oil)

img_5232

Whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.  Then whisk in the buttermilk, eggs and melted butter.

Cook the pancakes over medium heat on a grill pan sprayed with cooking spray.  Use about 1/3 cup batter for each pancake and cook 3 or 4 minutes on each side until they are nicely browned.

Keep warm in a 200 degree oven if you’re collecting pancakes to feed a crowd.  Enjoy!!

img_5236
Charlotte my pancake helper!

31 thoughts on “NY Times Buttermilk Pancakes

  1. Oh how nice, and so great that you were able to use up something stashed in your fridge that was just waiting for you. They do sound yummy. I am reblogging in order to share this recipe and the idea of using up items in the fridge. Thanks for the great recipe.

  2. Pingback: Buttermilk pancakes reblogged!! | lucindalines

  3. Hi Rhonda. Grazie mille for sharing the recipe of pancakes! I used to love them when I lived in the States 25 years ago but when I got back to Italy, I don’t know why, I never ate them again. You gave me a great insipiration for the breakfast I’m going to have tomorrow. Have a great 2017 full of love, health and joy 🙂

    • Hi Lydia– what fun to hear from you!! And– I have to know the story of you living in the states– Was your family here? were you a student? Hope you like the pancakes! Hope you have a wonderful year ahead as well, friend… xox

      • Hi Rhonda! My first love was an American boy I met in Germany… so I spent my first year of college in Kankakee, Illinois (close to Chicago). I didn’t make it to get up early this morning so no pancakes today. I’ll make them tomorrow! I wonder if they are good with nutella on them 😉

        • Hi Lydia– So did you speak English before you came over to study?? You are totally proficient now and I wonder how you can write so well with just a year surrounded by English. –And– the nutella sounds like a fine idea!! Next time… xox

          • Hi Rhonda. I studied English at high school before going to the States in 1990. I had an excellent high school English teacher, though: Mr Glauco Mancini. Now he is 95 and I still spend a few afternoons in his company. I am fond of him. Such a bright and lively company 😉

            • How wonderful that you’ve been able to keep touch with him Simona. I was a teacher and wonder what’s happened to so many students. I’m sure he loves hearing from you… (and he did a fine job because your English is flawless!) –take care. xox

            • Actually he is REALLY good at English and he does not know I have a blog in English! I still fear his judgement and I don’t want to disappoint him 🙂 What a wonderful job you had! Being a teacher. A great responsability I guess, but just think all the good you did in life! I will be eternally thankful to Professor Mancini. Not because of his many skills but because of his love for life, nature, literature, music, dogs. For his wit and for his curiosity. A great man. I’m sure you are still in your students’ hearts and thoughts. God bless teachers! What a difficult job. And yet, we owe so much to you!!! xox

            • Walter just cooked for us a wonderful gulasch at lunch with sweet paprika! Yes, thank you, our weekend is going great. I hope you are enjoying your weekend too. Have a nice Sunday and a great start of the week tomorrow!

            • Yes, I am very lucky, I know. When Walter cooks he pours himself a glass of wine (usually white), he turns on the radio. Then he starts cooking and every now and then he enjoys a sip of wine. You can also hear him sing (that’s the only time he sings!). He really loves cooking. Rubem Alves wrote that ‘a meal is the cook’s soul turned into food’. I love these words and they suit Walter! Hugs

    • Thanks Daisy– we usually just have pancakes when the kids are here– or sometimes for Sunday night supper after church. Hope you have a good week ahead– any sewing projects?? (I keep thinking about those dolls)– Our last daughter is getting married in August so I’m starting to think about getting a quilt started. OK, hugs from here friend.

    • Hey Marcia– Isn’t she cute. She and her mom and 2 sisters are in Hunan staying with their Chinese grandmother for 6 weeks to include the Chinese New Year. I am really missing them all! But I know the grandma in Yueyang is loving every minute! OK, take care Marcia. xox

Leave a Reply

