Dark Chocolate Sea Salt Cookies

img_6600

Hello here– It’s still raining here– All yesterday afternoon I sat and read and watched through the back door– at the pounding persistent rain.  Thankful to be cozy and snug under my blanket of the couch with my book—and a cup of hot chocolate pudding.  So content.

Well, I won’t send you a “recipe” for chocolate pudding (1 box of pudding mix cooked with 3 cups of milk!!), but if you are in a rainy day mood for something desperately chocolate, these cookies might do the trick!

DARK CHOCOLATE SEA SALT COOKIES
12 oz. butter (1  1/2 stick)
1/4 cup unsweetened dark cocoa*
1  3/4 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla
2 cups flour
3/4 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. sea salt (coarse salt)
2 cups chocolate chips (12 oz. bag)**

img_6583

In  small mixing bowl, melt the butter in the microwave (a little over 1 minute).  Then stir in the cocoa and set it aside.

With an electric mixer beat together the brown sugar, eggs and vanilla.  Then beat in the flour, baking powder and sea salt.  Lastly, beat in the chocolate chips.

Put rounded tablespoons of batter onto a baking sheet that has been lined with parchment paper (or sprayed with cooking spray). Bake them up at 350 degrees for 8 to 10 minutes.  With a spatula remove the cookies to baking racks to cool.  Will make about 3 1/2 dozen cookies.

*I use Hershey’s dark chocolate cocoa (easy to find)
**The recipe I worked from called for regular chocolate chips, but I just had mini chips–either are fine.

img_6596

33 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Sea Salt Cookies

  1. Oh my God. These look delicious – I bet they’d be good with coconut oil or something like that (you know I like to adjust recipes to add a touch of healthier alternative 🙂 ) Anyway these look like perfect “it’s raining outside” cookies. Have a great week, Rhonda ❤

  2. Hi Rhonda! These dark chocolate cookies look ‘deliziosi’ 🙂 Must pass the recipe to my sister who is fond of home-made chocolate cookies… I didn’t know the trick of adding sea salt. I bet they are gorgeous 🙂

    • You’re so fun Simona– I should learn the word “deliziosi” in a bunch of languages!! Does your sister live close by?? My sis lived 3 years in China and then 3 years in Kosovo!! But has moved back this fall–I’m so glad to have her close by! Hope all’s well there… xox

    • Hi Marcia– It’s colder than usual here– when I walked with my buddy early this morning we were all mittened and wrapped up in warm coats!! And frost on our room tops! Stay snug and warm there!! xox

Leave a Reply

