Sour Cream Chocolate Pecan Bread

img_6983

Hey there friends– Maybe you know what I mean. Sometimes (think 4:00 in the afternoon) I just need a little taste of chocolate and nuts.  In an emergency there is always a handful of dark chocolate chips and a few pecans from the cupboard to see me through.

But this is really a much better solution– moist and rich and the sweet crunch of pecans.  Add a mug of tea. Perfect.

SOUR CREAM CHOCOLATE PECAN BREAD
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1/2 cup canola oil
1  1/2 tsp. vanilla
1 sleeve (1 tsp.) instant coffee*
1/2 cup Hershey’s dark cocoa
1/2 cup buttermilk**
3/4 cup sour cream
1  1/2 cup flour
1  1/4 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. sal1 cup pecans, chopped
garnish: handful of mini chocolate chips & pecan bits

img_6968

In a mixing bowl, whisk together the sugar, eggs and oil.  Then mix in the vanilla, coffee, cocoa, buttermilk and sour cream.  Next stir in the flour, baking powder and salt.  Finally mix in the pecans (you can keep a few aside to sprinkle on top of the loaves)

Spoon the batter into a 9″ x 5″ loaf pan*** that has been sprayed with cooking spray.  Sprinkle the mini chocolate chips and extra pecans on top and then bake it all in a 350 degree oven for 45 to 50 minutes, until a small knife inserted comes out clean.

Let it sit a few minutes before cutting into slices.

*The coffee doesn’t show up in the flavor, just makes the chocolate taste so much richer.
**Buttermilk substitute– 1 tab. cider vinegar added to milk to make 1/2 cup
***I used two smaller half size loaf pans.

img_6966

24 thoughts on “Sour Cream Chocolate Pecan Bread

    • Hi Lacey– yep, our friends Tim & Jill invited a bunch of us for a Valentines dinner– with some sweet/funny valentines games. How about you?? Did your kids do valentines for friends?? Hope it was a fun day for you all! xox

      • Oh my goodness Rhonda. My kids planned a Valentine’s for me when I got home from work that included homemade cards, flowers, and a spaghetti dinner 🙂 They were supposed to go to a party that they didn’t make it to while I was at work. So I didn’t have any thing planned! I pulled cookies out of the cabinet and called the Valentine’s Day cookies. Then we read some Valentine’s Day stories. I am going to have to step my game up for my sweet kids.

  1. Rhonda, this sounds so moist and delicious! I love chocolate. I didn’t used to. I liked it…, but now it seems I can’t get enough! It’s funny how our tastes change through the years. I’ve got to try this recipe! Thanks for sharing it with such gorgeous photos! 😊

Leave a Reply

