Simple Mocha Cake

Hi all– I’m afraid this isn’t much of a recipe– more like just a tip about putting instant coffee into your cake mix & frosting to give it a rich mocha flavor.  But I promise if you try this simple cake, you’ll have a hard time not licking your plate.  It’s crazy delicious!

SIMPLE MOCHA CAKE

Cake:
1 dark chocolate cake mix
1 cup water
1/3 cup vegetable oil
3 eggs
2 tsp. instant coffee (about 2 small packs)

Frosting:
1/2 cup butter, melted
2 tsp. instant coffee (about 2 small packs)
1/4 cup dark chocolate unsweetened cocoa
8 oz. cream cheese
1 tsp. vanilla
1 pound box powdered sugar (about 3 3/4 cups)
1-2 tab, water if needed
garnish:  stemmed cherry!!

 

With an electric mixer beat together the cake mix according to the directions on the package–mine used 1 cup water, 1/3 cup oil and 3 eggs.  Them mix in the 2 tsp. instant coffee.

Spoon the batter into two 8″ or 9″ cake pans that have been sprayed with cooking spray.  Bake at 350 degrees for 25 to 30 minutes until the cake is firm to the touch.  Cool completely before frosting.

To make the frosting, melt the butter in the microwave and then mix in the cocoa and instant coffee.  Then with a mixer beat in the cream cheese vanilla and powdered sugar.  Begin mixing on the lowest setting until the sugar has started in incorporate (or you will have sugar flying everywhere!).  Up the speed of the mixer to blend thoroughly.

If the frosting seems too dry, add 1 or maybe 2 tablespoons of water (be careful it’s easy to add to much water and end up with running frosting!)

Frost the bottom layer.   Add to top layer and frost away the top and sides.  Add cherry and it ‘s done!

 

33 thoughts on “Simple Mocha Cake

    • Hey Suzanne– I know you make an awesome Chocolate cake!! I melt the butter to meld it with the chocolate– seems to make it taste chocolatier. Happy Saturday– I’m off to the Home Depot for impatience for the front flower bed… hugs hugs friend!

  1. OMG Rhonda! That cake looks amazing. Love the tip about adding instant coffee. I wonder if a healthy oil like coconut or grapeseed oil would work? (You know my tendency to ask about healthy substitutes 🙂 ) Hope your weekend is going great. Love to you my friend xo

  2. I really want to try this cake… I wondered what do you mean by “packs” of coffee? Also, what kind of instant coffee do you use in this recipe? I’ve used coffee in cake recipes but I want to make sure this time I’m using the right one. 😊

    • Hi Daisy!! I buy instant coffee for baking– and it comes in little paper sleeves for one serving. Each one is about a teaspoon of instant coffee. I know you can get fancy expresso powder ($$) — so my little instant coffee is pretty basic– but works for me! Happy Baking!! xox

Leave a Reply

