Blueberry Topped Cheesecake


Hello all–  It’s pretty entertaining to watch my Larry eat a piece of cheesecake.  He appreciates that it’s rich and creamy– and you only need the tiniest bite to get that burst of flavor.  Plus he wants to make it last as long as he can.  I’m more of a gobbler.  So when I’m scraping the last crumbs off my plate, Larry is just beginning to nibble it away.  Honestly.

And this blueberry topped cake is really nibble-worthy.  It’s especially soft and creamy (I think it’s the sour cream)– and I got the recipe from my sis, the baker– so you know it’s a good one!

BLUEBERRY TOPPED CHEESECAKE

Crust:
1  1/2 cup graham crackers, crushed
2 tab. sugar
1/3 cup butter, melted

Filling:
24 oz. cream cheese (3  8oz. blocks)
1 cup sugar
4 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
1  1/2 cup sour cream

Topping:
1/3 cup blueberry fruit spread
3 cups blueberries*

Crush the graham crackers in a plastic bag with a rolling pin, until they are fine crumbs.  In a bowl mix together the crumbs, 2 tab. sugar and melted butter.  Press the mixture into a 9″ springform pan (or deep pie dish).

For the filling, use an electric mixer to thoroughly beat together the cream cheese and 1 cup sugar– until it is fluffy and not gritty.  Then beat in the eggs, vanilla and sour cream.

Spoon the mixture over the crust and put it into a 350 degree oven for 60 to 70 minutes until it is set (and just slightly jiggly in the pan– it will firm as it cools).

With a thin knife, cut around the edge of the cheese cake to release it from sticking to the sides of the pan. Let it sit at room temperature for an hour.   Then set the cheesecake into the fridge for at least an hour until the are ready to serve it.

To make the blueberry topping, melt the blueberry fruit spread in a saucepan on low heat on the stove top.  Then mix in the berries and spoon let it cool before you spoon it over the cheesecake.

*I used frozen blueberries, but fresh would be better when the season rolls around!

34 thoughts on “Blueberry Topped Cheesecake

    • Hey Marcia– Yep, I like easy recipes that I don’t have have buy a bunch of fancy ingredients to make. (Does that make me lazy– or just practical??) Did I tell you how much I loved you books selections? (I know I did– but I’ll say it again!) xox

    • Hi Nick! Graham crackers are really more like biscuits– a little sweet, not salty like most crackers. So any plain biscuit/cookie could work here. — And- loved your butter and honey carrots! Your photos ae the absolute best!!

  1. This looks delicious – I wish I was good at baking! I have a poetry blog here on WordPress and today’s post is about blueberries in case you have time to look? Have a good day, Sam 🙂

    • Thanks Sam! delightful poem– I can see those recalcitrant blueberries… And am a little jealous that you found your way to Switzerland! so beautiful (my grandmother is from Bern– but we live in California). Fun to find your blog!!

        • Hi Samantha– no, my grandmother’s family (with 11 kids!!) immigrated to the U.S. — so she grew up here, lived to be 102 and was the dearest. But she’s gone now. But my husband, kids and I lived in Spain for several years and made a few trips north, stopping in Bern– for the beauty, for the hikes, for the pastries! It really is a gorgeous place. You’re blessed to live in such an amazing country for now!! Fun to find your blog!!

Leave a Reply

