Strawberry Scones

Hello all– It’s starting to be strawberry season here!! That’s great news!  When we were married at the end of March, a hundred years ago (more or less), my Mom and I scoured the town for beautiful ripe strawberries to cascade down our wedding cake.  We finally found them jut in time in a small market couple cities over!!

But now we’ve got these sweet red berries and they are just right to be folded into buttery, crispy scones. With a smear of butter and maybe just a dot of jam.  Perfect.

STRAWBERRY SCONES
2 cups strawberries, stemmed & cut to bits
1 tab. sugar
2 cups flour
1/4 cup sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 cup butter (1 stick)
2/3 cup whole milk (or half & half)
1 egg
coarse sugar*

Stem and cut the strawberries to small bits until yo have 2 full cups.  Mix them with 1 tablespoon of sugar.

In a large mixing bowl, stir together the flour, 1/4 cup sugar, baking powder and salt.  With a pastry blender (or a food processor if you don’t mind cleaning that big thing), cut in the butter until it is cut to the size of peas in the mixture.

With a soft spatula, sit the strawberries into the flour mixture.

In a separate bowl whisk together the milk and egg.  Then stir them into the flour mixture as well until it’s all moist and combined.

Onto a counter dusted with flour, dump the dough out.  Cut it into 2 halves.  Take the first half and form it into a thick disc.  Cut it into 6 triangular pieces (like a pizza!) and set them onto a baking sheet lined with a piece of parchment.  Repeat with the second half of the dough for 12 medium sized scones.

Sprinkle the coarse sugar onto the tops of the scones and pop them into a 400 degree oven for 20 to 25 minutes, until they are golden and crispy around the edges.  Super delicious hot from the oven!!

*the recipe I worked from called for turbinado sugar.  I used some coarse sugar crystals I had from a cake decorating shop.

28 thoughts on “Strawberry Scones

    • Hi Shanika– I’ve made more than my share of fails in the kitchen!! But fortunately, my Larry will eat my disasters and not complain. Hope you are stepping in to a wonderful weekend– plans?? We still have our kids here and some of their college friends are coming for brunch. take care. xo

      • Hi Rhonda! Aww, that’s so sweet of Larry! Such awesome support! My husband does the same thing so it makes it a little better. Haha! Thanks so much. I’m just relaxing this weekend. The weather here in NYC doesn’t get nice until Monday so I’ll just stay in this weekend, relax, hang out with my boys, and experiment on a few recipes. I hope that you have a great weekend with your kids and their friends! Sounds like you’ll have super fun and some really great food pictures to show! 🙂 Take care!

  1. I love the sound sound of your wedding cake Rhonda. I love making scones but with strawberries inside that sounds bliss. Our Strawberry season will be a couple of months away but I shall definitely try making these. X

    • Thanks Brigid– we’re just starting to get good berries. My Larry loves angel food cake with berries and cream– so easy (cake from a mix!) so I can see that coming up soon… How the work going on your book?? It sounds a bit daunting– butI know you can do it!! hugs hugs!

  2. Looks like these came out perfect, love strawberry scones and we already have strawberries in our refrigerator so I’ll have to get out of this chair and whip something up (nothing so grand as this recipe but perhaps a few cut up on a bowl of cereal…), Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend, Rhonda! xo

    • Agree Marcia– berries can elevate lots of foods from cereal to french toast to gren salad. I’m happy to see them coming into season. Happy spring there!! Lvoe being your blog-friend. xo

  3. YUM~~~ Thank you so much Rhonda. What a sweet story of you and your mom looking for strawberries for your wedding cake. 🙂
    Have a wonderful weekend. Hope you are doing fantastic!!! Love and blessings, Debbie

    • Doing well. thanks Debbie. I need to get over and catch up on all your posts!! We had kids here for 2 weeks and I’ve barely had a minute to read! Miss your warm words. Happy week ahead Debbie. hugs hugs!

      • Hugs to you too Rhonda!! I did a post on Friday and also just this morning, if you want to have a look. Your presence (and hugs) are always welcome. I love you my friend. Glad that you had the kids!!

    • Ha ha! I think scones would lose a ot of their charm in the mail!! Hope all’s well wit you Kat. How was your weekend?? We had kids in and out the last 2 weeks and the last ones drove home yesterday. Loved it. take care. xo

Leave a Reply

