Cherry Bit Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Hello all– We lived in Texas the first 4 years we were married. Larry was in seminary and I taught science all week.  So every Saturday it was the same routine.  He’d study– while I cleaned our student apartment (so tiny, it didn’t take long!) went with 3 friends to grocery shop together, did laundry and then made cookies. So many cookies!  Now days we don’t need weekly cookies…

But for some young friends coming in last Thursday, I pulled out this old recipe.  Homey and sweet and best hot from the oven!

CHERY BIT CHOCOLATE CHIP OATMEAL COOKIES
1 cup butter (2 sticks)
1 cup white sugar
1 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
1  1/2 cups flour
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking powder
1  1/2 cups oats
1 cup walnuts, chopped
2 cups chocolate chips
1 cup dried cherries, minced*

With an electric mixer beat the butter, 2 sugars and eggs until they’re creamy.  Then beat in the flour, salt, baking powder and oats.  Finally, use the mixer to blend in the walnuts, chocolate chips and cherries.

Drop the batter by spoonfuls on a cookie sheet sprayed with cooking spray.  Flatten the cookies a bit with the bottom of a heavy glass.

Bake them up at 350 degrees for 11 or 12 minutes.  Be sure to eat at least one hot from the oven!!

*Whole dried cherries are too gummy for me.  I mince them to bits, for their cherry sweetness, but no gummy bites!

54 thoughts on “Cherry Bit Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Looks yummy! Perfect timing…I just bought some dried cherries yesterday at Trader Joes! A must make after soccer!

    • Funny Debi– that’s where I got my cherries too! My favorite place to pick up things I don’t absolutely need, but like to eat! And how did the soccer game go?? Is volleyball over?? xo

      • Gem too…love Trader Joes and always find something new and interesting! Soccer game was great…they won 1-0. It was a bit of a nail biter! We have 2 more volleyball tournaments. It will end in June. So much fun but long days…glad they are usually only once a month…some times two. Thanks again for the cookie recipe…I just had one with my coffee…so good!

        • Hi Debi– so glad you liked them– and all your sports events sound so so fun! I got to drive up for a couple of track meets for Maryann last year–loved watching her run, elbows flying!! And– Linda’s back! How about a June lunch?? xox friend!

  2. This is so delicious looking! Cherries are anti inflammatory and a great healthy treat. I was just chatting with someone about this. 😊

    I think I’d try it with spelt flour, or maybe oat flour and coconut or dates – yum!

    Lovely times you and your husband spent in Texas. What a nice way to spend the day. Makes me love you all this much!

      • Ha ha, thanks Rhonda! I used to do holistic health counseling before moving into forgiveness coaching. ❤ Having such a blessed weekend. Hung out with my partner and keeping dry (it's raining here). Hope you are having a beautiful Sunday, my friend. Blessings xoxoxo Hugs too. Debbie

  3. Yum Rhonda, those cookies are divine, it’s some of my favorite flavors all in one cookie. They look so soft and chewy. Almost always have dried cherries in the pantry, one of my favorite snacks. Have a wonderful Sunday!!

Leave a Reply

