Fresh Strawberry Yogurt Cake

Hello there–  This fruity cake is a bundt cake made by someone who’s kitchen is without a bundt pan.
So it’s a little plain, no nice rounded bumps and ruffles– but just as delicious.  Now and then I think I should buy a bundt pan– but my kitchen cupboards are full, really full.  I think I’ve hit my cake pan limit.
This is a tender, super moist cake, spiked with sweet berries and covered with a sweet glaze.  I think you’d love it while the berries are fresh and sweet right now.

FRESH STRAWBERRY  YOGURT BUNDT CAKE

3 cups strawberries, cut into chunks (about 16 oz.)
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, room temperature
2 cups sugar
3 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
2  1/2 cups flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 cup unflavored yogurt
1 cup powdered sugar
2 to 3 tab. milk

Clean and cut the strawberries into little chunks. Pat dry with a paper towel. Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, use an electric mixer to beat together the butter, sugar, eggs and vanilla.  then beat in the flour, baking powder and salt.  Finally beat in the yogurt.  Then stir in the strawberries with a wooden spoon until they are spread all through the stiff batter.

Spoon the batter into a bundt pan (or tube pan) that has been sprayed with cooking spray.  Bake the cake at 325 degrees for 60 to 70 minutes until a thin knife inserted comes out clean.

Let the cake sit in the pan and cool for about an hour before you turn it out onto a plate.

With a fork whisk together the powdered sugar and 2 tablespoons of milk.  If it’s too thick, add another tablespoon of milk.  Drizzle over the cake– and it’s beautiful and ready to eat!

21 thoughts on “Fresh Strawberry Yogurt Cake

  1. YUM!!! God, Rhonda, you have the yummiest sounding cakes. 🙂 So good to connect. Hope your Mother’s Day was so beautiful (I’m sure it was). Sending you blessings and hugs, my friend xo Debbie

  2. This sounds so fresh and delicious. How ironic that we’ve just had a coffee with my freshly made banana and raspberry cake. Thanks for another yum recipe. 🙂

    • Oh gosh– never tasted bananas-raspberry cake. Sounds so fruity and sweet. Is it like a banana bread?? Would love the recipe!! (and We just made a lemon raspberry coffee cake– I think there’s a fruity thing going on here!!). Happy Tuesday to you Miriam!! xox

      • It’s so easy and so delicious. It’s more of a cake texture than a bread. And you can substitute the raspberries for any type of berry. I actually posted this recipe on my blog a while ago. Do a search for recipes and you should find it but let me know if you don’t. Happy Tuesday to you as well Rhonda (here it’s Wednesday now). xo

        • Ha ha! I’m not counting the hours ahead!! I should know– when we lived in Spain, whenever there was a 3:00 a.m. phone call we knew it was someone from home who hadn’t remembered we were 9 hours later!! –Anyway, the cake sounds really lovely. I’m off to search your blog for it. Thanks Miriam!! xox

    • Hey Daisy– I walked with baby Lois to the Farmer’s market this morning– fresh cherries everywhere! We don’t have a big Farmer’s Market down where we live– so it was fun… Love summer fruit. xox friend.

  3. I just bought a beautiful mini bundt cake pan…surely have to try this..strawberries are in season here…once I do it will write a recipe review for u😊

Leave a Reply

