Baked Taco Stacks

Hello all–  Do you love tacos as much as we do around here??  I saw this recipe and it reminded me of the big taco stack that old Mrs. Neely would bring to the church suppers when I was small.  I remember waiting in line and hope hoping there would still be a slice for me left when I got to the table…

These are little individual stacks of that same memorable dish– hot from your oven.  Add a little sour cream, some avocado.  Delish!!

BAKED TACO STACKS
1 pound ground beef
1/2  yellow onion, chopped
2 tab. Taco Seasoning
1 cup corn kernels*
14 oz. cn petite diced tomatoes**
18 small “street taco size” corn tortillas
1  1/2 cup grated cheddar or colby jack
garnish:  sour cream, avocado, cilantro leaves, hot sauce.

Salt the bottom of the skillet (to prevent sticking) and then drop in the ground beef and chopped onion.  Cook chopping the beef to bits, until the beef and onion are nicely browned and cooked through.  Drain any fat rendered in the pan.

Stir in the taco seasoning, corn and tomatoes to the beef.

Spray a baking sheet with a rim with cooking spray.  Layer a tortilla, then the beef mixture, then a little cheese.  Repeat 2 times to make a 3 layer taco stack.  Do this whole stack process 6 times to make 6 little stacks.

Tent the tray with foil (try not to touch the tops of the stacks with foil) and pop it into a 375 degree oven for 15 minutes.  Take off the foil and cook 5 minutes longer.

Garnish the stacks with a spoonful of sour cream, cilantro and avocado.   Serve hot sauce or salsa on the side.

19 thoughts on “Baked Taco Stacks

    • Hi Shanika– we had veggie tacos at a little place in the market of the Twitter building up in San Francisco last week.. They were so pretty, I almost hated to eat them (but you know I did!!). Happy 3 day weekend ahead. You have plans?? hugs from here!

      • Hi Rhonda! That sounds so awesome! I could only imagine! I know that some foods look too good to eat! Haha! I’m so happy to hear that you’ve been well! I’m actually looking to get a lot of writing done for my blog and freelance writing positions. I’m also hoping to make some nice dishes for Memorial Day and just hang out with my two guys! I’m sure you’ll be doing something super fun with your family! Hugs & more hugs! 😊

        • Hey Shanika– that’s exciting to hear about your writing projects. What sort of topics to write about?? Are they things we can look up?? Our weekend has been great so far– took our grand-girl to San Diego for her 10th birthday (zoo, museums…) and today (my birthday!) it’s breakfast our best friends and a bar-b-que with a group of old friends from church. Happy cooking with your guys!! xo

          • Hi Rhonda! I’ve put up a few of my writing projects on my blog, actually. You can find them in ‘the latest projects’ section of my blog. Also, that sounds like such fun. I love zoos, museums, and anything fun! Oh my gosh, HAPPY BIRTHDAY Rhonda! I wish you tons of love, laughter, and blessings today with. Friends & family! Hugs and more hugs! 💜

    • Hi Marcia!! that’s so funny– I just have a less than new iphone for photos. I always love the fancy food blogs with their SLR photos! But I’m happy with what I have. Happy 3 day weekend. Do you have plans?? xox

  1. I love the stacking! I never did that before! That must be fun in the kitchen! 🙂 Not to mention, they look super cool on a plate too! 😉 MMMMM!

Leave a Reply

