White Texas Sheet Cake

Hello ya’ll–  We lived in Texas for a few years when we were first married and the chocolate version of this sweet cake was a staple of friends there.  And it made it’s way into our own cake rotation.

So when I ran across this white reiteration of the old favorite, I wanted to give it a try.  Swap out cinnamon and pecans for almond flavoring and walnuts– and of course, hold the chocolate!  Love the simple, homey little cake.  Just right for a weeknight meal or a picnic with friends.

WHITE TEXAS SHEET CAKE
Cake:
2 cups flour
2 cups sugar
1  1/2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
1 cup butter, cubed (2 sticks)
1 cup water
2 eggs
1/2 cup sour cream or plain yogurt
1 tsp. almond extract or amaretto*

Frosting:
1/2 cup butter, cubed
1/4 cup milk
4  1/2 cups powdered sugar
1/2 tsp. almond extract or amaretto
1 cup walnuts, chopped (or more if you love nuts like I do!!)

In a mixing bowl, stir up the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.  In a saucepan, bring the 1 cup butter and water to  simmer (be sure all the butter is melted).  Them stir it completely into the flour mixture.

In a mug, whisk together the eggs, sour cram and 1 tsp. amaretto with a fork.  Then blend it into the batter.

Spoon the batter into a 15″ x 10″ x 1″ baking sheet** that has been sprayed with cooking spray.  Bake it up at 375 degrees of 18 to 20 minutes, until it’s firm to the touch.

While that’s baking make the frosting.  Bring the 1/2 cup butter and milk to a simmer in a saucepan.  Take it off the heat and then stir in the powered sugar, amaretto and walnuts.  Smooth it over the cake– delicious warm or cooled!

*I use Amaretto in place of almond extract because it it so much less expensive!  And a big bottle will last forever…
**In place of the large baking sheet, I used two 10″ inch tart pans– prettier to serve from.

23 thoughts on “White Texas Sheet Cake

      • Hi Rhonda, I’m good but very busy with school, housework and starting my outside work. I have two more weeks of school and then I have the summer off! I plan to finally finish my spare room, garden and write all summer. How are you? Do you keep busy too? Blessings to you💜😁

        • Hi Mary– I know the end of school is always a little crazy– so much going on! What is your outside work?? Summer is the best– things slow down and other things finally get done! I’m busy getting ready for kids and in-laws arriving for a long weekend– bachelorette party and 2 bridal showers for my daughter. Just over stuffed my fridge to keep people fed and now I’m off to scrub bathrooms… take care friend. xo

  1. Hi Rhonda – what??? A regional recipe from Texas I have not ever heard of?? In which city did you live in Texas? I think this calls for additional research — and taste testing!! -Kat

    • We lived in Dallas for 4 years while Larry was in school there– I taught school in Richardson. Have you lived in Texas?? I think this cake is a general southern thing– My mother-in-law from Arkansas makes it and a friend from Oklahoma too. I really like the chocolate version best. It’s a good un-fancy cake that makes a lot for a crowd. and Kat– liked your hot dog recipe– we don’t eat many hot dogs until summer rolls around and we’ve got the grill going– What are you doing this weekend?? We have kids in and our almost son-in-laws family from Wisconsin for bridal showers. (they’re all at the beach right now!). anyway, hope you have a fine weekend there. xox

Leave a Reply

