Caramel Pear Cake

 

Hello there– It’s that time of year when dinner can shift from leaning in around the family room table, to catching cool evening breezes under the maple trees in the back yard.   So last week friends came over the share an outdoor “pot luck salad supper” — perfect summer kick off!

And for dessert we had Miriam’s tart, Glenda’s legendary lemon bars, Joanne’s super strawberry cake and this caramel pear cake.  Sweet ending to time around the table with friends.

P.S. The best thing about this cake is that there is more pears, nuts mixed in than batter– so it’s fruity sweet crunchy sweet.

CARAMEL PEAR CAKE
2 large pears, peeled, seeded & cut in bits
3/4 cup walnuts, chopped
1  1/2 cup flour
3/4 cup sugar
1 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1 egg
3/4 cup canola oil
1 tsp. vanilla
garnish:  powdered sugar,  1/4 cup salted caramel*

Prepare the pears and walnuts.  Set aside.

In a mixing bowl stir together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.  Then mix in the egg, oil and vanilla (batter will be very stiff!)  Fold in the pears and walnuts until it’s thoroughly combined.

Spoon the batter into a 8″ or 9″ cake pan** that has been sprayed with cooking spray.  Pop it into a 350 degree oven for 45 to 50 minutes until a thin knife inserted comes out clean.

Let the cake cool for an hour or so.  Then dust on a little powdered sugar through a sieve.  Drizzle the salted caramel over the top.

If you serve it with ice cream, be sure to have a little pitcher of warm caramel to top it all!

*You can make your own caramel– I used Smuckers salted caramel from a jar!
**I like a springform pan because it’s easier to extract the cake and set it on a pretty plate.

25 thoughts on “Caramel Pear Cake

  1. Yum! Rhonda, this looks so good. I’m a huge salted caramel fan. 😊

    This would be delicious with ice cream I bet. The one thing to check (if you’re interested) is that the canola oil is non GMO. Helps to keep it healthier!

    Much love, and Happy almost summer. Love and hugs xo
    Debbie

      • Yes. My problem is when I find a good recipe online I forget to bookmark the page so I often have trouble finding it the next time. I think I’ll just keep coming back to your blog. I know where to find you!

        And I am curious to see what comments will come forward on the eBook post. It is a little different for picture books I think.

        • Hi Cindy– I’m sure there a lot of people out there who really know the ins and outs of publishing a lot better than I do. Hope you find what really works best for you to share your beautiful work… hugs!

  2. Your cakes always look sensational Rhonda. And this one is no exception. I’ve said it before but I’ll say it again, you need a “print me” WP button on your recipes. 😊 Thanks for another yum sounding recipe. xo

Leave a Reply

