Orange & Rosemary Salmon

Hello all– There are some old recipes that are standards (That’s you, coconut cake!).  And I’m just sticking with them.  But there are some foods that are always open for improvement.  I’m always wiling to try a new chocolate chip cookie or a new spin on meatballs and because we’re trying to eat more fish, I’m always up for a new version of salmon.

Here’s the latest– sweet and tangy.  And that smokey paprika!  I was entranced as it spilled out of the jar onto my measuring spoon.  I think you’ll love this easy dish…

ORANGE & ROSEMARY SALMON
1 orange
2 tab. olive oil
1 tsp. fresh rosemary, minced
1 pound salmon filets
2 tab. brown sugar
1 tsp. smoked paprika
1/2 tsp. sea salt
garnish: orange wedge, sprig of rosemary

Take an orange and grate off all the peel. Set that aside.  Then cut the orange in half and extract all the juice.

Mix the orange juice, olive oil & rosemary in a baking dish to make the marinade. Put the salmon filets into the marinade, turning to coat both sides and let it sit in the fridge for an hour.*

While that’s marinating, in a small bowl, mix together the brown sugar, paprika, sea salt and the peel of the orange you grated off.

When the salmon is done marinating, pour the extra marinade out of the baking dish.  Then spread the paprika mixture evenly over the top of the salmon and pop it into a 400 degree oven for 10 to 15 minutes depending on the thickness of your filets.

P.S. We had ours with roasted red potatoes since they both bake at 400 degrees.  Add a little steamed broccoli.  Dinner!

20 thoughts on “Orange & Rosemary Salmon

    • Hi Brigid– I didn’t buy smoked paprika for a long time because it’s more expensive than regular paprika (and I’m a true cheapskate)– but finally got a bottle and use it for special recipes– its does smell so rich and smokey! Happy cooking there friend! xoxo

    • Hope you like it Dan! I tried to comment on your childhood story about the trek on the river– amazing!! But the comments were closed. What a childhood you had! I’m sure it made you who you are now…

    • Hey Kat– yep, easy and lots of flavor. I think I’m going to have friends in in a couple weeks and do it with a couple big salads–eat in the backyard… Hope all’s well with you friend. xo

    • HI Marcia! thanks– I like it because it’s so easy and has loads of flavor. think I’ll make it for friends in a couple weeks. How does your 4th of July look?? Any plans? I’m going to watch my son-in-law play the tuba in a 4th of July parade! hugs hugs1

Leave a Reply

