Lime Cilantro Chicken Tacos

Hi there friends– Truth be told, we eat Mexican-ish food 2 or 3 times a week around here.  I’ve never met a food I didn’t like folded into a tortilla.  How about you?? I have a feeling we’re not the only ones.

So when I found this super easy way to come up with a potful of spicy chicken (thank you Pinterest)– that could top a tortilla any number of ways, I couldn’t wait to try it.  And it was delish!

LIME CILANTRO CHICKEN TACOS

Chicken:
2 pounds boneless chicken breasts, cut into chunks
1 small yellow onion, chopped fine
3 cloves garlic
1 tsp. chili powder
1 tsp. smoked paprika
1 tsp. cumin
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
1/2 cup salsa
1/2 cup chicken broth
to finish it off: 2 limes, 1/4 cup chopped cilantro

Taco ingredients:
street size corn tortillas (or whatever is your favorite!)
chopped lettuce
chopped cilantro
grated cheddar jack
avocado

Drop everything into a pot and bring to lowest simmer on your stove top. Cook for an hour (maybe a little more depending on how big you cut up the chicken chunks).

With a slotted spoon remove the chicken to a plate and shred it with 2 forks.  Scrape it all back into the sauce in the bottom on the pot and let the chicken soak up all the juicy sauce.

Serve with warm tortillas, lettuce, tomato, cheese, salsa, jalapeños, sour cream, salsa, avocado…  The list is pretty endless– just pick the taco ingredients you have on hand!

P.S –The recipe I worked from said to dump it all in crock pot and let it cook– 3 to 4 hours on high– or 6 to 7 hours on low.  Alas, I don’t own a crock pot, so you get my stove top version–or you can crock pot it yourself!

26 thoughts on “Lime Cilantro Chicken Tacos

  1. Rhonda those tacos sound great. I’m with you, love Mexican food and anything wrapped in a taco is alright by me. I never make Mexican food myself weird right but the spicing intimidates me. People call me the anti spice😂. Love this recipe I will throw caution to the wind and give it a go! Hope you and your family have a wonderful July 4th Holiday 🇺🇸

    • Hi Suzanne– I like this recipe because it’s so easy– and can make a bunch for a crowd if you double it… Hope your 4th of July is the best too. I’m imagining a block party with lots of streamers and good food–??! We’re going to watch our son-in-law play the tuba in a 4th parade. Should be fun! hugs hugs friend! xo

  2. Hi Rhonda. I love Mexican food but we have no Mexican restaurants in Donegal at all. This looks delicious as always. I made your salmon at the weekend and really enjoyed it. I shall make it again. X

    • OH I’m so excited that you made the salmon Brigid– thanks for letting me know. We have so much Mexican food here– and so many people from Mexico. The school I taught in was mostly children whose parents spoke Spanish–loved those families. Hope your week is going well friend. Any plans for the weekend?? xox

      • I travelled into the Baja many years ago from San Diego. The margaritas were gigantic and very nice. Going to see a dance performance tomorrow night. One of the lead dancers from Riverdance comes from here and will be dancing. Should be very good. 😊

Leave a Reply

