Maple Walnut Banana Bread

Hello Bakers–  I’ve been making my Grandma Rose’s banana bread for as long a I can remember,  It’s the favorite in kitchens all over our family.  But when I saw this version sweetened by maple syrup, I had to give it a try.  I can just say it smells heavenly coming out of the oven!!

MAPLE WALNUT BANANA BREAD
2 very ripe bananas
1/3 cup canola oil
1/3 cup maple syrup
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla
1 1/3 cup flour
2 tab. brown sugar
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt

topping:
1 cup walnuts, coarsely chopped
2 tablespoons brown sugar

Prepare the topping first.  Chop the nuts, mix in 2 tab. brown sugar and set aside.

Mash those bananas with a fork in a large mixing bowl.  Then stir in the oil, syrup, egg and vanilla.  Next mix in the flour, brown sugar, baking powder an salt.

Spoon the batter in to a standard 9″x5″ loaf pan that has been sprayed with cooking spray.  Bake at 350 degrees from 35 to 40 minutes, until a small knife inserted comes out clean.  (I used two smaller pans to make one loaf to keep, one to take to my father-in-law Stu). Enjoy!!

18 thoughts on “Maple Walnut Banana Bread

  1. YUM! Rhonda this looks amazing (so moist like it could jump off the photo 🙂 )
    Have a beautiful week. Hope you are visiting your family this summer. Love how caring you all are. Blessings, Debbie

  2. Yum, I like adding maple syrup instead of white sugar and this looks delicious. I have to admit I always stir by hand, way too lazy to dig out and clean up mixers after using (unless absolutely necessary for whipping etc.). xo

    • Totally agree with you Marcia on the mixer thing. I’d rather get out a wooden spoon than set up the mixer!! Simpler is better. Hope you’re doing well– loved your outdoor posts. Beautiful!! xox Friend!

    • Ha ha! The smell it makes in the kitchen while it’s baking really is mouth watering!! Love your latest ice cream post!! I always wish I lived closer to the places you show us! thanks! xox

    • ha ha ha! yep– it’s a big jug of syrup. And we eat a lot of banana bread around here (can’t throw away a black banana!) — What have you been up to Kat?? (I’ve pretty much spent the whole day quilting). hugs hugs!

Leave a Reply

