Ranch Potato Salad

Hey there– I’m a little picky about potato salad.  I think a lot of people are.  Some people love big chunks of egg or spoonfuls of pickle relish.  And then there’s hot German potato salad.  But to my way of thinking, this potato salad is practically perfect.  Ranch dressing flavors the sauce and bits of bacon and cheddar play against the firm starchiness of the golden potatoes.

My sis Lulu and I spent a morning peeling a mountain of potatoes  (21 pounds!!) to make potato salad for the party for our John and Laurel last weekend.  I think it turned out pretty and delicious!

RANCH POTATO SALAD
3 pounds golden yellow potatoes
8 slices of bacon (about 1/2 pound)
1/2 cup sour cream
1/2 cup mayonnaise
2  1/2 tab. dijon mustard
1 oz. package Ranch Dressing Seasoning Mix
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. freshly ground pepper
1  1/2 cups grated cheddar
4 green onions, cut in thin slices

Cook the unpeeled potatoes in a large pot of salted water 15 to 20 minutes until a knife slides in easily, but they are still firm.  Pour them potatoes in a strainer to get rid of the water and let them cool completely.  Peel them and cut them into polite little chunks.

While the potatoes are cooking, cook the bacon, cool it and crumble it to little bits.

In a large mixing bowl stir together the sour cream, mayonnaise, mustard, Ranch seasoning mix, salt, pepper and cheddar.  Add in the potatoes and stir until they are all coated with dressing.

Keep the mixed potato salad in the fridge until you are ready to serve it up– Then fold in the green onion & bacon and set it on the table.  Enjoy!

 

32 thoughts on “Ranch Potato Salad

    • Hi Melanie!! So wonderful that you could trek all the way up and be with us. I know Laurel loved seeing you and Tyler and those girls!! You’re the dearest kind of friend. We had so much potato salad leftover– been eating it all week! ha ha ha! take care. xo

    • thanks thanks– yep we spent all morning cooking and peeling and cutting potatoes, but working with my sis in the kitchen is always big fun. Hope you had a great weekend– any cooking adventures?? xox

  1. Hi Rhonda – you know what I really dislike? Potato salad from the grocery store when they don’t cook the potatoes long enough and you get some crunchy bites. Ewww. Never for a minute would I accuse your potato salad of such a transgression. This looks darn good and I love the addition of the ranch powder. And of course bacon — you can’t go wrong adding bacon to just about anything. -Kat

  2. Oh I bet ranch is great for potato salad. I have a potluck at church this coming weekend and am signed up to bring potato salad! What are the odds? I have to admin though, I was thinking about store bought. I don’t know if I have it in me to peel that many potatoes like you ladies!

      • Our church does it a few times a year, and our church is pretty tiny. We usually don’t stay for the pot lucks though because it’s been too hard to wrangle the kids through them after they’ve been still in church. I haven’t tried attended one in about a year, I think maybe it’ll be easier now (fingers crossed).

        Do you have a go-to put luck dish that you’re known for?

  3. I’m a bit of a newcomer to Ranch Potato Salad and only made it for the first time this summer, but this one sounds absolutely amazing. You never fail with fantastic recipes! That cheese – in potato salad? Wow! What a great touch! Imagine 21 pounds of potatoes! Wowsie! WEll I can see I have alot of catching up to do!

Leave a Reply

