Peach Pecan Muffins

IMG_4730Hi all– Farewell sweet peaches. They are still in the market this week, but I know they won’t be around for long…  I love these golden juicy fruits and am sad to see them go.  That’s why I’m stuffing them into any possible baking project before it’s time to move on to apples and pumpkin.

These muffins are stuffed with sweet peaches and nutty pecans.  And with the crunchy streusel topping, they are a bit like eating peach cobbler for breakfast (minus the big blob of vanilla ice cream!).  They are that yummy.  Hope you like them too.

PEACH PECAN MUFFINS

Streusel:
4 tab. butter, melted
6 tab. brown sugar
2 tab. white sugar
6 tab. flour

Melt the butter in the microwave.  Stir in the sugars and flour.  Set aside

Muffins:
2 yellow peaches*
1 egg
1/2 cup milk
1/4 cup canola oil
1 1/2 cup flour
1/2 cup sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
2 tsp. amaretto
1 cup pecans, chopped

IMG_4748Peel the peaches, take out the pit and chop them to nice little bits.  In a mixing bowl, stir up the egg, milk and oil.  Then mix in the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and cinnamon.  Lastly fold in the amaretto, pecans and cut peaches.

Spoon the batter into a 12 cup muffin tin lined with paper muffins cups.  With your fingers crumble the streusel mixture over the muffins and pop them in a 350 degree oven for 20 to 25 minutes until they are golden and firm to the touch.

*When we moved into our house, we had a white peach tree in the backyard that bore the most flavorless sad peaches.  I think that left me disposed to yellow peaches.  It always seems like yellow peaches are sweeter and peachier!  Crazy, I know.

IMG_4749

12 thoughts on “Peach Pecan Muffins

  1. I’ve been encouraging Joanne to do something special for herself in celebration of her 25th year of teaching. That got me thinking about what my most special/perfect day would look like and I decided that I would start my day in your kitchen happily chatting and eating whatever you wanted to make on that morning because 1) I enjoy your company and 2) everything you bake looks so delicious! 🙂

  2. I do agree that yellow peaches are divine…but once Derek and I had some white peaches at a B & B in Northern Cali, outside of SF and they were sweeeet. Haven’t had that experience since, so back to the perfectly divine yellow I went 🙂

Leave a Reply

