Maple Pecan Baked French Toast

Hi there– Every single Sunday morning while we were growing up, my Dad would take to the kitchen and griddle up piles of French toast while my mom got 4 little kids ready for church. We loved those hot syrupy slices.  I can’t think of French toast without remembering my fun-loving father.

So here’s a new version of that old French toast– with maple in the custard and a maple glaze on top for sweetness, plus pecans for a little crunch.  The nice thing is that you can make it a little ahead in the morning — or put it together the night before and keep it over night in the fridge until your ready to bake it.

MAPLE PECAN BAKED FRENCH TOAST
1 baguette
5 eggs
3 cups milk (or half & half)
1/2 cup maple syrup
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 cup pecans

Glaze:
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1/4 cup maple syrup

Slice the baguette into thin slices (about 1/2″ thick).  Arrange them in a 9″ x 13″ baking dish (I used a large round tart dish) that has been sprayed with cooking spray.

In a large mixing bowl, whisk the eggs for a minute.  Then whisk in the milk, 1/2 cup maple syrup and salt.

Pour the egg mixture over the slices of bread in the baking dish.  Cover with foil, tenting it up so it doesn’t touch the bread and let it sit for an hour (or overnight) in the fridge.

Bake the covered bread for 20 minutes in a 375 degree oven.  Remove the foil and then sprinkle the pecans over the bread and bake for 20 minutes more.

While that’s baking, mix together the powdered sugar and 1/4 cup maple syrup.  Pour it over the hot French Toast as it comes out of the oven– serve it up hot and sweet!!

32 thoughts on “Maple Pecan Baked French Toast

        • Hey Mary– glad to hear you’re not in the thick of things! We are having sunny warm days for May– windows open, lots of birds and squirrels out (nothing like your wild life!!) Happy weekend! any plans?? or are you still recovering from your trip?! xox

          • Your spring season sounds wonderful, enjoy! I’m just doing weekend housework and trying to finish that spare room closet so I can post! I hope you will do something fun this weekend! take care and blessings to you. >3

            • Hi Mary– Hope the closet is whipped into shape by now!! Be fun to see it! We have a full weekend– the morning 4 girls from our young adult group came to bake– we made a big brunch and then the guys showed up to help us eat! (and they did all the dishes). Really loved the time with them. And tomorrow is the big family party for Larry’s Dad’s 90th birthday!! Should be a sweet time. Happy closet arranging there!! (you’re inspiring me to work on my overstuffed –but very small_- clothes closet!) xox

            • Your day and brunch sounds like so much fun! I never really do things like that but should start! I had a change of plans today since the weather was nice ( with just a shower of two and then it cleared up) leading me to work in my garden. I just cleaned it up and Tom will till soon. We can’t plan until June first here so that gives me time to plan and decide what we will grow. Happy weekend. Hugs to you ❤

            • Oh that sounds promising Mary!! Larry just put in tomatoes and basil in our little plot. You should do a post on your garden when it gets going strong! I’d love to see it! Blessings. xo

  1. Oh, wow, that first picture made me want to run and make these right away! They look so good! I love recipes that you can prepare the night before and then just pop in the oven in the morning. Can’t wait to make it for my kids! 😊

  2. Oh dang that looks so good, I think I may have to make that for Sunday breakfast tomorrow. I see you have found a way to put your big jug of maple syrup to use. 😉 -Kat

    • Ha ha ha! yep, it doesn’t take us long to get into that syrup! We had a group of younger gals from church come in this morning to bake–and one of the things they made was this French toast. like it a log. So how is your weekend going Kat?? Getting out in the spring weather?? xox

Leave a Reply

