Lemon Zucchini Bread

img_3735

Hello cooking buddies–  It’s been a quiet week for me here.  Staying with my dear Mom as she recovers from a couple hospital stays last week.  Mostly I’ve been sitting and working on some unnamed Christmas gifts (just in case any of the recipients are reading… I mean you Laurel!)  We watch old movies and eat soup.  A unique and actually sweet time with Mom.

So all I have to share with you is a luscious lemony loaf of bread I made a few weeks ago for friends.  It’s tender and tart and looks a little bit like sunshine on the plate.  If you’re looking for something sweet to give away this Christmas, you might just like this pretty bread.

LEMON ZUCCHINI BREAD

Bread:
2/3 cup canola oil
1/2 cup unflavored yogurt
2 tab. lemon juice*
2 eggs
1 1/3 cup sugar
2 cups flour
1  1/2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
1 tab. lemon zest (peel)*
2 cups grated zucchini (2 smallish zucchini)
1 tsp. vanilla

Glaze:
1 cup powdered sugar
1 to 2 tab. lemon juice*
2 tab.grated lemon peel*

img_3703

To start out, grate 2 smallish zucchini with a box grater (largest holes) to produce 2 cups of grated zucchini.  Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl stir together the canola oil, yogurt, lemon juice, eggs and sugar until blended and smooth.  Then mix in the flour, baking powder, salt and lemon zest.  And finally fold in the zucchini and vanilla.

Spoon the batter into a standard loaf pan (9″x 5″) that has been sprayed with cooking spray.  Bake in a 350 degree oven for 40 to 45 minutes until a small knife inserted comes out clean.

Let the bread rest a few minutes while you stir up the glaze.  Whisk together the powdered sugar and 1 tablespoon lemon juice.  If you like it thinner, stir in the 2nd tablespoon of lemon juice.  Drizzle over the cake.  And sprinkle the lemon peel on top.  Enjoy!

*One large lemon or two smaller lemons should be enough.

img_3708

31 thoughts on “Lemon Zucchini Bread

  1. So happy to hear you’re having a sweet time with your Mom. That is precious time. My dear Mom passed away many years ago, when I was young, and so I always encourage people to cherish the time they have with their parents and loved ones. Your description of this bread, “sunshine on a plate,” is perfect! It looks moist and sweet. Does the fact that it has zucchini make it a healthy, slightly vegetarian-ish choice? 🙂

    • Hi Daisy– I wish–the zucchini is pretty minimal. I wish it showed up more. Maybe I’ll try it with more zucchini next time. –You’re so right about not missing those days with parents. Larry’s folks are 89 & 87 and live in their house. It’s really fun to hang out with them–no one else listens to all my stories like they do… take care. xo

  2. Rhonda, you’ve been in my thoughts!! I am glad that you are getting some sweet, quality time with your mom, and hope it puts her in good spirits. Your bread also looks divine! I bet the zuchinni is a great addition. I like to bake breads for coworkers and neighbors this time of year. I’ll be sure to add this to my list!

    • Hey Jasmine. me too–I’m baking tiny loaves of cranberry orange bread for my MOPS (mothers of preschoolers) this week. Happy baking your way through the holidays! always fun to hear from you…

  3. OH I hope you post about the Christmas gifts later! I also hope your mom is recovery quickly. It’s a combo I would not have thought to try, but this bread looks delish!

    • Hey Lacey– I wouldn’t have thought of it either, but I saw it on Pinterest and when I googled it, there were loads of lemon zucchini bread recipes out there. Who’d have thought? Hope you are all on the mend by the time you get this… xo

        • Hey Lacey– hope everyone is up and running at your house by the time you get this! We lave Larry down with a bad cold–went to his work Christmas party last night and he couldn’t even talk! I think he’ll nap it trough today–and drink lemon tea… OK, hope you are launching into Christmas and finding a lot of joy with your dear family. hugs from here!

          • Aw thanks for checking on us. We seem to all be okay!
            Oh poor Larry. I think I would have skipped the party lol
            Yes the kids are making it impossible not to have Christmas spirit this year.

            How’s that sweet baby and your mom doing?

            • Hey Lacey!! Glad you all got back to your lively selves! My mom is so worn and weary. I’m still hoping and praying she’ll be able to stay living in her home–and baby Lois is adorable. We get a steady stream of photos texted to us daily. And she’ll be down with her parents for a week at Christmas! I have to stop collecting Christmas gifts for her– so much cute baby stuff out there!! Love “talking with you friend!” xox

            • Thanks. It sure felt like we were down for a long time. It’s nice to be “back to normal”, whatever that is!

              I’ll be praying for you mom too. That’s tough.

              Haha you just keep spoiling that baby! That week will be so much fun.

            • Hey Lacey– yep “normal” is never routine with kids in the house! My mom is getting a little more energy bit by bit. Yesterday we even went and bought toys for the great grand-kids Christmas– her first outing! So we’re encouraged. Hope your managing well with all the things you have on your list this time of year!! blessings. xo

        • That sounds like a big (fun!) project Suzanne! I’ll bet people are happy to see you come in the door with a basket for them! We had a realtor who brought us lunch and treats the day we moved in our house — and even gave us her own table for a spot in our kitchen! I’m sure your clients really appreciate you too Suzanne… Happy Baking!! hope we get to see the things you pull out of the oven! xox

    • How you doing in Chicago Kat. Face timed with my daughter in Madison Friday night and she said it was in the 30’s!! Real Christmas weather! Hope all’s well there with you. (love your cranberry mimosa!!). hugs from here.

  4. This sounds wonderful. I think you’ve just added another cake to my recipe folder. Thanks Rhonda and lovely that you’ve had time with your mum. I so miss mine. Take care xo

  5. Pingback: Celebrate National Zucchini Bread Day with Lemon Zucchini Bread ~The Thankful Heart – Once Upon a Spice

Leave a Reply

