Roasted Eggplant Parmesan

 

Hello friends–  Got this recipe from a food blog that I just love– The RichmondAvenue   It’s written by smart and warm Jasmine, who combines really practical recipes with beautiful photography and a big dose of southern friendliness.  Her tortilla soup is awesome– as well as this big plateful of roasted eggplant parmesan.  I think you’d love her blog as much as I do.

ROASTED EGGLANT PARMESAN
2 large eggplants, sliced into 1/2″ slices
olive oil
1 medium onion, chopped
3 tab. olive oil
2 large cloves of garlic, minced
2 tsp. dried basil
1 tsp. dried thyme
28 oz. can crushed tomatoes
1 tab. red wine vinegar
salt & freshly ground pepper, to taste
1/2 cup (packed) fresh basil leaves, chopped
1 1/2 cup parmesan romano
1/3 cup panko bread crumb
1/2 tsp. dried basil
garnish: basil leaves
8 oz. pasta, cooked

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. Line 2 baking sheets with foil.  Brush the slices of eggplant on both sides with olive oil and lay them in a single layer on the baking sheets.  Roast them in the hot oven for 10 to 15 minutes, until the bottom sides are browned.  Then turn them over and roast for 10 minutes more.

While that’s roasting, heat the 3 tab. of oil in a large saucepan over medium heat.  Drop in the onion and saute until the onion starts to brown.  Then add in the garlic, dried basil and thyme.  Saute another 30 seconds.  Finally stir in the crushed tomatoes and leave on a low simmer for about 15 to 20 minutes.  Then add the red wine vinegar, fresh basil and salt & pepper to taste.

Spray a 9″ x 9″ baking dish (or a 7″ x 11″) with cooking spray.  Layer in a few spoons of sauce, a layer of eggplant and a sprinkling of the parmesan. Continue with 2 more layers until you’ve used all the eggplant, sauce & parmesan.  Mix the panko bread crumbs with the 1/2 tsp. dried basil and sprinkle the crumbs over the eggplant in the baking dish.

Pop it into a 375 degree oven for 20 to 30 minutes, until the eggplant mixture is bubbly and hot in the middle.  Serve over your favorite pasta.  Garnish with a sprig of basil.

26 thoughts on “Roasted Eggplant Parmesan

  1. I love ‘melanzane alla parmigiana’. Honestly I’ve never tried ‘spaghetti alla parmigiana’ but I think I’d love them (I’m fond both of eggplants – ‘melanzane’ – and spaghetti!). I may even try this recipe during Easter holidays 🙂 Grazie, Rhonda and have a Happy Easter (Buona Pasqua!). xoxo

      • Ciao Rhonda! Sorry for not wishing you a Happy Easter earlier. We had our relatives from Bologna and were either out or eating some Easter goodies 😉 I hope you spent a Happy Easter at your brother’s. Many blessings to you, cara amica!

        • Hi Simona– Don’t you love having family in to stay?? It sounds like you had a lovely time with them. We had a sweet time at my brother’s house and found out two of our nieces are expecting babies a week apart in November. That we exciting!! Hope your week is rolling along well Simona. Any concerts coming up??

          • Hi Rhonda! Yes, I love having relatives and friends around! I am glad you had a nice time at your brother’s. And CONGRATULAZIONI for your two nieces expecting babies in November. What great blessings 🙂 Next concert is coming up on June 21st in Fano for the European Music Festival! In the meantime I’m learning how to play the cello 😉 Getting ready for next year. I want to surprise my friends showing up in the orchestra with a cello instead of a violin 😉

            • Simona– learning to play the cello?? you say it like it’s nothing! You are so amazing. And– it’s one of my favorite instruments, so rich and mellow and the foundation that all the other strings play against. Wish we were there on the 21st to hear you all! Enjoy all the playing and practicing together!! Hope we get to see photos of the big day! Happy weekend ahead Simona– hope it’s full of sweet moments for you… hugs hugs!

            • Ciao Rhonda. I’m just learning the cello right now, so I’ll play the violin at the conert on June 21st (just to be sure I don’t mess up the whole concert!). Yes, you are right, the cello in the orchestra is like the depth of the ocean: giving the foundation for waves, splashes and all the movement on the surface. It is deep and hidden; like strong roots upon which you can build your confidence 🙂 Buon fine settimana to you too, dear friend. I hope you spend it with your loved ones. xoxo

            • Beautifully described Simona. It’s so amazing to me that you can pick up an instrument and practice and master it and produce something of such beauty. Hope your concert prep is going well– I think it would be exciting to practice with the rest of the group!! Hope it all goes beautifully ahead… xo friend.

            • Grazie mille, Rhonda! I may post about it (if my friends authorize me to post our picture!). Grazie for your best wishes. I wish you a great time with your family or friends in the week-end ahead (you are such a great cook!!!). xoxo

  2. Love this, Rhonda! It’s a recipe I can make & eat, not just give away, haha. My daughter found quinoa pasta for me and I love it! It tastes great and adds a wonderful flavor to pasta dishes. I’ll just have to try this eggplant dish, especially since my husband has tried to get me to make more eggplant. Can’t wait to try it! 😊

    • Hey Daisy– hope you like it! WE had gluten free pasta last week at a friend’s house and it was delish– never heard of quinoa pasta!! Have to see if it’s at our market. Hugs friend!

  3. Oh my goodness. I love eggplant, and we have not made it in awhile at home. This looks like something that would satisfy an eggplant parm craving without having to do all the breading and frying.

    • Hey Lacey– Yep, I’ve made regular eggplant parmesan and you’re right that breading and frying is a mess. Hope you are anticipating a blessed Easter. Are you having family in, going somewhere?? We are headed down to my brother’s house after church– always a sweet time. Blessings friend. xo

        • Sounds like a fun Easter run around day– I know your parents loved it! We had yummy food ant my brothers and found out that 2 of my nieces are expecting their first baby in November!! exciting! hugs to you all LAcey!

    • Hi Lilly! We love eggplant too– and pasta in most any form! I’m still thinking about that homemade pasta you made!! And — do you celebrate Easter there. Hope it’s a blessed day for you, dear Lilly. xox

    • Hi Marcia! Been a quieter week– lots of quilting! Hope you have a blessed Easter tomorrow. Do you get together with family?? We go down to my brother’s house after church– always a sweet time. Hope your day is beautiful. God bless. xo

    • Yep, I’m all for easier Kat! Hope you liked it! We went to a new Mexican place for Good Friday on our way to St John’s– Not sure that was the most appropriate food– but delicious! xo

    • thanks! And oh– I’m a little jealous! We just put in a few forlorn tomato plants in our yard– not an eggplant in sight! And just peeked at your blog– those pickles are the best!! Happy “farming”!

Leave a Reply

